Working to strengthen local


Short biographies of the fifteen members of Cambridgeshire ACRE’s Board can be found below.

John Yates (Chair)
John is Chair of Cambridgeshire ACRE, a position he assumed in November 2006. Prior to this he had a long career in the NHS and the Department of Health, mostly in planning and procurement of new hospitals and facilities and the disposal of redundant land and buildings. John is a City of Ely councillor, a director of Ely Perspective and Churchwarden at St Peters Church, Ely.

Mike Hellowell (Vice Chair)
Mike joined the Board in 2006 and was elected Vice Chair in 2017. He is the Chairman and Founder of Eurotech International Group Ltd in Cambridge, specialising in supplying internationally, scientific instruments, didactic systems and complete technical/medical laboratories to research, industry and high educational establishments. Mike is a past Chairman of Horningsea Parish Council.

Terry Jordan (Vice Chair)
Terry joined the Board in 2011 and was elected Vice Chair in 2017. Terry is currently the Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer for two of the sixteen Town/Parish Councils in the District of Fenland, as well as having worked, at various times in his career, at Cambridgeshire County Council and Fenland District Council. These roles have involved Terry working with various officers at Cambridgeshire ACRE on a number of projects and initiatives. Terry has worked in local government in Cambridgeshire – at all three tiers - for more than 40 years, giving him considerable experience of public-sector legislation and services. His particular specialisms are Democracy, Electoral Services, Licensing, Community Engagement, project and resource management, and a variety of aspects of partnership working.

Nick Pallister (Treasurer)
Nick lived in Norfolk until he left in 1968 to pursue his career in accountancy but he has always maintained close links with East Anglia through his family. After a three year overseas assignment with a firm of accountants, he joined Unilever in 1972 and worked for them for 20 years in various auditing and commercial roles. After leaving Unilever, he ran his own interim management accounting business for 4 years. Latterly he worked for 9 years in Africa for two small groups of companies in commercial and management capacities. He retired to Ely in 2006 and has been a trustee of St Peters Church in Ely since 2007.

Annie Blair
Annie joined the Board of Cambridgeshire ACRE in 2017. Annie has been a volunteer for community and parish organisations in the village of Folksworth and the surrounding area for over 30 years. The experience she has gained through various and diverse committees, from school governor, parish councillor and village hall management has given her sound insight into good governance and the Third Sector and its workings. Professionally, she originally had a career in the financial and insurance sectors before changing vocation and training in the educational sector as an arts educator/practitioner, where she lectured and researched for Peterborough Regional College and Anglia Ruskin University in Community Arts, English and Lifelong Learning.

David Gibbs
Dave joined the Board of Cambridgeshire ACRE in 2017. Dave is a recent arrival to Cambridgeshire, having spent most of his life in south-east London. In his professional life, Dave was a community development worker specialising in finance and external funding. As an advisor to voluntary organisations of all types and sizes, he has over 20 years’ experience of helping organisations to achieve their goals. Dave is currently Treasurer of Newton Village Hall, Chairman of Newton-in-the-Isle Parish Council and Clerk of Tydd St Giles Parish Council.

Brian Hayes
Brian has been a trustee of Cambridgeshire ACRE since 1999. He is also a trustee of Branching Out and is a member of the Institute of Civil Engineers, The Chartered Institute of Water and Environmental Management, Royal Society of Health, National Trust, English Heritage, Rotary Club of Littleport and Ely 41 Club (ex-Round Table). Prior to retirement, Brian ran his own consultancy service specialising in infrastructure design and contract management including overseeing construction work on a number of projects exceeding £1m.

Jane Logan
Biography awaited.

Hugh McCurdy
Hugh is currently Archdeacon of Huntingdon and Wisbech and joined the Cambridgeshire ACRE Board in 2009. In his day-job, Hugh has responsibility for the care of the clergy and church communities in the north and west of the diocese. He is also occupied in practical and legal matters such as parish boundaries, diocesan finance, clergy housing and reordering of church interiors.

Robert Oliver
Robert joined the Board in 2017. Robert is chairman of the Mandeville Hall in Kimbolton which was the first village hall in Cambridgeshire to achieve all three levels of the Hallmark quality award. By profession, Robert was a chartered accountant. Since taking early retirement, Robert has enjoyed getting more involved with local community activities.

David Spreadbury
David joined the Cambridgeshire ACRE Board in 1998 and has been both Chair and Vice Chair in his time with the organisation. His career was in education administration and his subsequent business links were with the NHS interviewing for senior posts and working with Addenbrookes Hospital as a Convenor for Independent Reviews.

Elizabeth Stazicker
Elizabeth’s professional career was spent in English local government archives, and she was Head of Heritage and County Archivist for Cambridgeshire County Council for eleven years. She is currently Archivist for Ely Cathedral and the King's School, Ely. She is also Chair of Mepal Parish Council and Chairman of the Stained Glass Museum at Ely Cathedral.

Geoff Taylor
Geoff has been on the Cambridgeshire ACRE Board since 2002. He is a retired solicitor and a trustee of his local village hall in Coton. He fills his time with travelling, visits to the theatre, concerts, cinemas and going to the gym.

Robert Turner
Biography awaited.

Hazel Williams
Hazel has been a board member since 1998. She has been a parish councillor in Burwell since 1981 and served on East Cambridgeshire District Council for 20 years. Hazel is an executive member of the National Association of Local Councils. She chairs the board of Age UK Cambridgeshire and Peterborough and is also a board member of Burwell Community Print, Burwell Day Centre and the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough Association of Local Councils.